Azumo vs Thoughtworks: full comparison for 2026
Quick verdict
Azumo (4.2/5) edges ahead of Thoughtworks (4.1/5) overall. Azumo is the better choice for budget-conscious U.S. teams, time-zone-aligned. Thoughtworks is the stronger option for engineering-led firms that value delivery practice. The right choice depends on your project size, budget, and required tech stack.
Azumo vs Thoughtworks: head-to-head summary
| Criterion | Azumo | Thoughtworks |
|---|---|---|
| Founded | 2016 | 1993 |
| HQ | San Francisco, CA, USA | Chicago, IL, USA |
| Team size | 50–249 | 10,000+ |
| Rating | 4.2 / 5 | 4.1 / 5 |
| Primary differentiator | U.S.-hours engineering from Argentina at a $25–$49 Clutch band with a $10,000 entry point | Long-standing engineering discipline, testing and continuous delivery applied to AI features |
| Pricing model | $25–$49/hr (Clutch band); T&M and dedicated teams | T&M with senior-weighted teams; rates on request |
| Min. engagement | $10,000+ (Clutch) | Not disclosed |
| Primary tech stack | Azure OpenAI, AWS Bedrock, LangChain | Azure OpenAI, AWS Bedrock, Google Vertex AI |
| Industries served | SaaS, Financial services, Healthcare, Retail & e-commerce | Financial services, Retail, Public sector, Healthcare |
Azumo vs Thoughtworks: overview
Azumo
Azumo is a nearshore software and AI development company founded in 2016, headquartered in San Francisco, with its main engineering base in Rosario, Argentina. Clutch lists 50–249 employees, a $25–$49 hourly band and a $10,000 minimum project, with an overall review score of 4.9. It builds LLM features, chat interfaces and data integrations for U.S. startups and mid-size firms. Some Clutch reviewers mention turnover on longer engagements.
Thoughtworks
Thoughtworks is a software engineering consultancy founded in 1993 and headquartered in Chicago, with about 10,000 people across 18 countries. Apax Partners took it private in a deal of about $1.75 billion that completed in November 2024, after a restructuring that cut 6–7% of staff. It now markets AI-first software delivery, and in March 2026 it formed an AI-focused joint venture with consulting firm Teneo. Its reputation rests on engineering practice more than on packaged integrations.
Services and capabilities: Azumo vs Thoughtworks
| Capability | Azumo | Thoughtworks |
|---|---|---|
| CRM / ERP integration | ✗ | ✗ |
| LLM API gateway & cost control | ✓ | ✓ |
| Document processing | ✗ | ✗ |
| Agentic workflows | ✗ | ✗ |
| Fixed-price pilot | ✗ | ✗ |
| Managed services after launch | ✗ | ✗ |
| PII masking & access control | ✗ | ✗ |
Tech stack comparison: Azumo vs Thoughtworks
| Framework / platform | Azumo | Thoughtworks |
|---|---|---|
| Salesforce | N/A | N/A |
| SAP | N/A | N/A |
| Microsoft Dynamics 365 | N/A | N/A |
| HubSpot | N/A | N/A |
| Snowflake | N/A | N/A |
| Databricks | N/A | ✓ |
| Azure OpenAI | ✓ | ✓ |
| AWS Bedrock | ✓ | ✓ |
| LangChain | ✓ | N/A |
| ServiceNow | N/A | N/A |
Pricing comparison: Azumo vs Thoughtworks
| Criterion | Azumo | Thoughtworks |
|---|---|---|
| Minimum engagement | $10,000+ (Clutch) | Not disclosed |
| Engagement models | Time & materials, Dedicated team | Time & materials, Dedicated team |
| Rate transparency | Minimum disclosed | Not public |
| Price tier | Accessible | Mid-market |
Target audience comparison: Azumo vs Thoughtworks
| Dimension | Azumo | Thoughtworks |
|---|---|---|
| Best company size | Startup to mid-market | Enterprise |
| Best industries | SaaS, Financial services, Healthcare | Financial services, Retail, Public sector |
| Best use cases | Adding an LLM assistant to an existing SaaS product., Extending an in-house team with nearshore AI engineers. | Modernizing a legacy application and adding AI features in the same programme., Setting up evaluation and release practices for LLM features. |
| Typical project type | Time & materials | Time & materials |
Azumo vs Thoughtworks: pros and cons
| Azumo | |
|---|---|
| + | Among the lowest published rate bands on this list |
| + | Working hours overlap fully with U.S. teams |
| + | Strong Clutch review record with high marks for communication |
| + | Low $10,000 minimum makes a first project easy to approve |
| - | Some reviewers report team turnover on long engagements |
| - | Less experience with SAP, Oracle or other heavy ERP systems |
| - | Few governance or security controls are described publicly |
| Thoughtworks | |
|---|---|
| + | Strong testing and continuous-delivery culture carries over to model and prompt changes |
| + | Publishes its Technology Radar, which offers a transparent view of its technical opinions |
| + | Comfortable modernizing legacy systems alongside the AI work |
| - | Taken private by Apax Partners in 2024 after cost-cutting, so the account team may change |
| - | Few packaged integrations for CRM or ERP suites |
| - | Senior-heavy teams carry higher blended rates |
Who should choose Azumo?
A typical fit: adding an LLM assistant to an existing SaaS product.
U.S.-hours engineering from Argentina at a $25–$49 Clutch band with a $10,000 entry point. Minimum engagement starts at $10,000+ (Clutch). Works best with clients in SaaS, Financial services, Healthcare, Retail & e-commerce.
Who should choose Thoughtworks?
A typical fit: modernizing a legacy application and adding AI features in the same programme.
Long-standing engineering discipline, testing and continuous delivery applied to AI features. Minimum engagement is not publicly disclosed. Works best with clients in Financial services, Retail, Public sector, Healthcare.
Decision matrix: Azumo vs Thoughtworks
| Your situation | Recommended choice |
|---|---|
| You want a fixed-price audit or pilot before committing | Neither advertises one; ask for a scoped pilot |
| AI has to work inside your existing CRM or ERP | Neither lists CRM/ERP integration work |
| Personal data must be masked and answers limited by user permissions | Ask both for their PII and access-control design |
| Your budget is at the lower end | Compare: Azumo ($10,000+ (Clutch)) vs Thoughtworks (Not disclosed) |
| You want the vendor to run the AI service after launch | Neither offers managed services; plan in-house operations |
| You are building multi-step agents across systems | Neither lists agentic AI work |
Use case fit: Azumo vs Thoughtworks
| Use case | Azumo fit | Thoughtworks fit | Winner |
|---|---|---|---|
| Adding an LLM assistant to an existing SaaS product. | Strong | Strong | Both equally |
| Extending an in-house team with nearshore AI engineers. | Strong | Limited | Azumo |
| Modernizing a legacy application and adding AI features in the same programme. | Limited | Strong | Thoughtworks |
| Setting up evaluation and release practices for LLM features. | Limited | Strong | Thoughtworks |
Verdict: Azumo vs Thoughtworks
Azumo (4.2/5) is the stronger overall choice for most AI Integration projects. U.S.-hours engineering from Argentina at a $25–$49 Clutch band with a $10,000 entry point.
Thoughtworks (4.1/5) is worth a look if you need setting up evaluation and release practices for LLM features. If your situation matches that, Thoughtworks is a competitive option.
Related comparisons
Azumo vs Thoughtworks FAQ
Is Azumo better than Thoughtworks?
Azumo (4.2/5) scores higher overall, but "better" depends on your use case. Azumo's strongest advantage: among the lowest published rate bands on this list. Thoughtworks's strongest advantage: strong testing and continuous-delivery culture carries over to model and prompt changes.
How do Azumo and Thoughtworks differ in pricing?
Azumo pricing: $25–$49/hr (Clutch band); T&M and dedicated teams. Minimum engagement: $10,000+ (Clutch). Thoughtworks pricing: T&M with senior-weighted teams; rates on request. Neither firm publishes a full rate card; a discovery call is required for project-specific quotes.
Which is better for enterprise: Azumo or Thoughtworks?
Azumo is the larger team and typically the better enterprise-scale choice. For very large programmes, verify team size and compliance coverage directly with each company before shortlisting.
What are the main differences between Azumo and Thoughtworks?
Azumo's primary differentiator is: U.S.-hours engineering from Argentina at a $25–$49 Clutch band with a $10,000 entry point. Thoughtworks's primary differentiator is: long-standing engineering discipline, testing and continuous delivery applied to AI features. They also differ in team size (50–249 vs 10,000+), minimum engagement ($10,000+ (Clutch) vs Not disclosed), and primary industries served (SaaS, Financial services vs Financial services, Retail).
Verify all details directly with each company before making a decision.